Survivor Series And NXT Takeover Reviews

Image Credit: WWE
Image Credit: WWE

Streaming Link courtesy Stitcher – A1 Podcast On Stitcher

Direct Link – A1 Podcast Episode 316

iTunes Page – A1 Podcast on iTunes

RSS Feed – A1 Podcast RSS Feed

WWE No Mercy Results


A complete rundown of the WWE Thanksgiving Tradition that is Survivor Series.

1. (Pre-Show) TJ Perkins, Noam Dar, & Rich Swann b. Drew Gulak, Tony Nese, Ariya Daivari when Swann pinned Daivari with a standing 450 splash

2. (Pre-Show) Kane p. Luke Harper with a chokeslam

3. Team Raw (Charlotte Flair, Bayley, Sasha Banks, Nia Jax, & Alicia Fox) b. Team Smackdown (Becky Lynch, Alexa Bliss, Naomi, Carmella, & Natalya). Natalya was subbing for the “injured” team captain Nikki Bella

Order Of Elimination

Alicia Fox pinned Carmella with an axe kick
Alexa Bliss pinned Alicia Fox with Twisted Bliss
Nia Jax eliminated Naomi via countout
Natalya pinned Sasha Banks with the deadliest move in all of WWE: The Roll-Up
Charlotte pinned Natalya with a Running Boot
Becky Lynch submitted Nia Jax with the Disarm-Her
Charlotte pinned Alexa Bliss with a Running Boot
Bayley pinned Becky Lynch with the Bayley-To-Belly

Survivors: Charlotte Flair and Bayley
4. Intercontinental Champion The Miz pinned Sami Zayn with the deadliest move in all of WWE: The Roll-Up. Zayn had Miz in the Figure 4, but Maryse rang the bell. This made Sami think he won, so he released the hold. Miz then rolled up Sami for the pin. Had Sami won, the Title would have switched to Raw.

5. Team Raw (The New Day, Gallows & Anderson, The Shining Stars, Enzo & Cass, & Sheamus & Cesaro) b. Team Smackdown (Slater & Rhyno, The Usos, Breezango, The Hype Brothers, & American Alpha)
Order Of Elimination

The New Day eliminated Breezango when Kofi Kingston pinned Fandango following the Midnight Hour
The Usos eliminated The New Day when Jey Uso pinned Kofi Kongston with a Superkick
Gallows & Anderson eliminated The Hype Brothers with The Magic Killer on Zack Ryder
American Alpha eliminated The Shooting Stars with a Double Bulldog on Primo
Gallows & Anderson eliminated American Alpha with The Magic Killer on Jason Jordan
Rhyno & Slater eliminated Gallows & Anderson when Rhyno hit a Gor on Gallows
Enzo & Cass eliminated Rhyno & Slater when Enzo pinned Rhyno with the Rocket Launcher
The Usos eliminated Enzo & Cass when an Uso hit Enzso with a Splash
Sheamus & Cesaro eliminated The Usos when Cesaro submitted Jey with The Sharpshooter

Survivors: Sheamus & Cesaro
6. Cruiserweight Champion The Brian Kendrick b. Kalisto vs. DQ when Baron Corben interfered. Carben laid both guys out. The Cruiserweights stay on Raw and Kendrick retains the title.
7. Team Smackdown (WWE World Champion AJ Styles, Dean Ambrse, Randy Orton, Bray Wyatt, and Shane McMahon w/James “No Chin” Ellsworth) b. Team Raw (Universal Champion Kevin Owens, Chris Jericho, Seth Rollins, Roman Reigns, & Braun Strowman) in a match that went over an hour counting intros.
Order Of Elimination

Braun Strowman pinned Dean Ambrose with a Powerslam
Braun Strowman was counted out when Ellsworth held his leg from under the ring, preventing Braun from getting into the ring. Braun then tossed Ellsworth off the stage
Kevin Owens was disqualified for attacking AJ Styles with The List Of Jericho
Randy Orton pinned Chris Jericho with an RKO
Shane McMahon was removed from the match after Reigns countered the Coast To Coast with a Spear. Shane had to be helped from the ring
Seth Rollins eliminated AJ Styles after a SHIELD Triple Poweromb through a table
Bray Wyatt pinned Roman Reigns with Sister Abigail

Survivers: Bray Wyatt & Randy Orton
8. Goldberg pinned Brock Lesnar with a Spear & Jackhammer in approximately 90 seconds. It is one of, if not THE shortest WWE PPV Main Events in many years. It’s also Brock Lesnar’s first pinfall loss since Wrestlemania 29.

NXT Takeover
1. Bobby Roode p. Tye Dillinger with a DDT
2. The Authors Of Pain (Rezar & Akam w/Paul Ellering) b. TM-61 (Nick Miller & Shane Thorne) to win the Dusty Rhodes Classic. Akam pinned Thorne after The Last Chapter.
3. DIY (Johnny Garganno & Tommaso Ciampa) b. The Revival (Dash Wilder & Scott Dawson) in a two-out-of-three falls match to win the NXT Tag Titles.

First Fall – Wilder pinned Gargano after a Shatter machine
Second Fall – Ciampa pinned Dawson following a superkick/knee combo
Third Fall – Garganno sumbitted Wilder with the Gargano Escape. Ciampa also submitted Dawson with an armbar

4. Asuka s. Mickie James with the Asuka Lock to retain the NXT Womens Title
5. Samoa Joe p. Shinsuke Nakamura with a Muscle Buster to become the first 2x NXT Champion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.